Monday, September 7, 2009

Chelsea Ban and Etc.

Good to have you back, Mike. I hear that Phil Greene may also be checking on this blog, so we'd welcome his presence in the dialogue once he signs an agreement that Arsenal are the greatest team in English football and Tottenham are merely nouveau riche who spend oodles of money every year and underachieve like the best of them. Their resurgence under 'Arry is just a blip on the radar.

Anyway, it is stunning about Chelsea and I really really hope it goes through. As you predicted in your comment below, Man U are now being investigated for like crimes and I would be absolutely thrilled if that happened to them as well.

Well, the game against Slovenia was quite something. It was absolutely Hilarious to read a massive article in Guardian detailing John Terry's strong feelings about diving and about how English players honesty cost them games because, dagnabit, they just refused to dive under any circumstances. 50 minutes later Rooney perpetrates the most outrageous, egregious dive I have seen in international competition; and I'm not exagerating. As they line up to watch the penalty Rooney and the boys are having a big laugh about how they got away with it.

Typical English football hypocrisy. When it's Croatians (like Eduardo who was a large part of humiliation a little while ago (4-1 tee hee hee)) they go crazy about diving, talk about long term bans, etc., but when their own low talent hack goes over it's all about how there may have been some contact, no wait it was actually Rooney who kicked the other guy, and then oh yeah the other guy actually got injured on the play, and um, yeah, after further review Rooney could have gotten a yellow card for EITHER the foul on the defender OR for diving in the box; but instead he gets a penalty in his favor. Nice....



















England are quite deluded actually about their football. Massive recrimination when they don't play well, massive elation to the point of disconnection from reality when they beat Slovenia in a friendly; their players can do no wrong.

Aargh!

No comments:

Post a Comment