Please tell me you saw this!
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2009/oct/27/real-madrid-alcorcon-copa-del-rey
Despite Man U losing to Burnley and Liverpool's horrible CL games, this has been my favorite moment of the season by far. Real Madrid losing 4-0!!!!! to a second division squad. And I am quite sure it wasn't even second division like Championship, but if you read it is the Regional Second Division B, group II. Which would be akin to Accrington Stanley betting Chelsea 4-0 in the the FA cup. Still a second round to go, where probably RM will pound in 6 goals or so and stay in the the cup, but this still made my football week. Not to mention that it wasn't even a youth team playing for Real, they didn't even have ONE youth team player. AND the other team had a few more chances they could have scored, apparently Dudek was the best player in the Real goal. I could make that team win this game, so how Pellegrini messed that up I don't know. More than likely it was the players, though. Without Ronaldo Real are mediocre despite having a crazy amount of other stars. With him they play a whole other level. I can't stand his arrogance but the lad is amazing. Man U have been winning, but not with a lot of style and I still think in the long run Chelsea will win the title. Especially if Joe Cole stays fit as he gives them that creative edge they are lacking. And last but not least the Liverpool, Man U match. I kind of wanted both teams to lose the game honestly, but of course a not fully fit Torres scores against a not fully fit Ferdinand. The Ngog goal was a bit of icing on the cake, but lets be honest, with Torres and Gerrard Liverpool could compete for the title. But both have injury problems and their respective national teams are too dependent on them as well so they keep getting injured. And the squad is incomparably thin relative to any of the top 6 squads I would say. Aston Villa, Everton and Fulham don't have a great deal of depth, but even Man City and Tottenham have better subs than Liverpool. Only great purchase of his entire Liverpool time for Benitez is Torres. Sorry, the rest just don't cut it. Alonso had one great season, but if you remember the year before he was trying to sell him as he had two years of mediocrity. If it wasn't for the purchase of Torres (and Istanbul of course) Benitez would be hailed as a decent but overrated coach. Which he is, sorry. Tactically very astute, but horrible at seeing potential talent and buying players that actually raise the level of the team. Fans can blame the American owners all they want, but Benitez has spent a great deal of money with only Torres to really show for it.
Just got back from holiday in Mozambique seeing my brother and his wife. Good times. Now headed back to Darfur today. Another kidnapping last week, so I have my work cut out for me. Hope you are doing well and studies are going well too.
Wednesday, October 28, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Ah, Guardian just posted more on the above game with a bit of analysis. By Sid Lowe. It is a good read. For some reason it won't let me paste in the comment box so I can't post the link, but it is on the guardian page under Sid Lowe so should be easy to find "Manuel Pellegrini is on the ropes after Real Madrid's greatest humiliation." As he should be. Especially after you read that the Real youth team play in the same league and only have lost once to the same team out of seven games. What an awesome result. It fills with me with such joy to watch Real suffer like this.
ReplyDelete