Monday, October 5, 2009

Pride comes before a .....

So I must make this short as I have far too much work. I do keep checking on this page occasionally, so even if has been a slight monologue, I still read it. :) Lots of extra fighting here recently, so I have been a bit distracted with work. But let me just say that although Arsenal looked magical (so I have read) they still look bad at the back and I think won't be able to finish first. And I loved your gloating over Chelsea falling apart. Kind of jumped on the bandwagon there, didn't you Jon? ONE loss for Chelsea, Ancelloti is the new Scolari. Of course that is until they play Liverpool. Chelsea had a blip, and that is all it was. They will continue to grind out amazing results and slowly walk away with the premiership.

Liverpool are looking like they miss Alonso more than ever, so if Aquilani can't produce, this year could put a lot of pressure on Benitez. They are still too dependent on Torres. Who can be brilliant, but if you look at the games Liverpool have lost (more than all of last year already) they are all games where he didn't show up and got into physical showdowns with defenders... and lost. If he doesn't play well, the whole team plays poorly. If he is injured, Liverpool will be happy to finish in a Champions League place, especially seeing Man City turning into an actual team.

I still don't think Man City will go the distance, don't forget Eriksson's first year in charge had them fighting for the league at Christmas only to finish outside of a European spot by the end. It won't go that poorly, I still think they will be fighting for the fourth spot near the end of the season, but will fall just short.

Man U are still annoying as ever. The English media, like always, constantly debate Rooney's genius. I just don't understand how anyone can argue that Rooney is better than Torres or Drogba (on the Guardian or BBC I believe). They aren't even in the same league. Rooney tries harder perhaps, but I could try far harder than Rooney, I still can't be compared to Berbatov, the laziest striker in years who has oodles of natural talent. Get over it, Rooney is not nearly as good as the best players in the world. He will never be compared to players like Ronaldo, Messi, Kaka, Villa, Torres, Drogba, etc. by anyone outside of England. The whole "he would never leave Man U" talk is just as much due to the fact that the other big teams in the world wouldn't try and buy him, unless it was for commercial reasons. And since he looks like Shrek rather than a model like Beckham or Ronaldo, it won't be done.

So much more to say, but no time to say it today. But hopefully this will bring a response from you so I can get your opinion on the games and players. Hope your studies are doing well!

No comments:

Post a Comment